Sumeet01F

He came, he acted and he conquered the hearts of every one once again. Yes, that was the reaction of many when they saw Sumeet Sachdev aka Gomzy donning a new avatar of Prof. Aseem Sen on UTV Bindass’ popular show Yeh Hai Aashiqui after a hiatus of 4 long years.

Then his role as Ishita’s (Divynka Tripathi) best friend as Mani in Yeh Hai Mohabbatein, Star Plus’s top Soap Opera in prime-time slot, was definitely the icing on the cake for viewers. In an exclusive interview with Atish Home Chowdhury, he reveals many sides of his personality and career as well which were hitherto unknown to many. Finally, good news for all fans! Sumeeet Sachdev is all set to make a possible comeback in Yeh Hai Mohabbatein in the near future.

Here are the excerpts:

You are more popular as Gomzy than Sumeet, any special memory attached to Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu thi that you wish to share with readers.

Yes, there are many pleasant memories. One of my first interactions with my audience is what comes to mind immediately. This is when I was just about a few weeks old in Kyunki… My brother was in town visiting at the time and I luckily got free in good time one evening. We decided to go to Juhu beach. There were loads of people there. As soon as I was spotted, everyone seemed to be rushing and pushing to get to me. There were smiling excited faces and a flood of hands and palms from all sides for an autograph. All I could manage was a dot on each palm. Shooting schedule was very hectic and I hardly got time to get out. I was aware that Kyunki… was one of the most loved and watched shows. Before I begun shooting, Ekta Kapur had mentioned to me that the audience will love my character. I wasn’t into watching too much of television then so wasn’t really sure but this incident is what confirmed it for me.

Your comeback in the in the serial Yeh hai Aashiqui on Bindaas TV was amazing, but unfortunately you did just 1 episode. Any chance for your fans like us to see you more on-screen?

Yes, it was amazing indeed. The format of Yeh hai Aashiqui is such – every episode is a different story. I had been approached for a few stories earlier as well but this story caught my attention and I’m very glad I was part of it. I had taken a sabbatical from acting for more than four years. I had gone back to architecture and made a couple of short films as well. I felt this episode was a great way to warm up and get back. It turned out to be much more. The reaction to this episode was unexpectedly huge. My facebook friends list raced up from a few hundred to the maximum limit of 5000 within a few days. I was overwhelmed by this response. To be frank with you, it is this unconditional love, affection and support from the audience that motivates me to be a part of the television industry. I have to be responsible enough to choose the characters I choose to portray though. I wish to be more visible in the future 🙂

Then, again your exit from Star Plus’s popular Soap Opera – Yeh Hai Mohabbatein made many fans shocked. Your role as Divyanka Tripathi aka Ishita’s best friend – Mani, was absolutely fantastic. Anything you want to say about it?

This was a great role and I thoroughly enjoyed playing the part of AbhimanyyuRaghav, more famously known as Mani. I made it a point to be totally relaxed in my day to day life as well so I would be able to portray the character most effectively. So, if there was a three wheeler trying to cut lanes and overtake me while driving, if the scheduler called me a few hours earlier than my scene or I received my scene less than five minutes before the camera was scheduled to roll, there was no issue at all – I was relaxed at all times.

Yes, the exit happened soon after the purpose for which the character was introduced was served. Sadly, all good things have to come to an end. Though I have been given a couple of possible future tracks in the show, let’s see if and when it comes up. I hope I am available at the time.

Don’t you feel new faces on soap operas are now more demanding than talents?

I’m sorry I’m in no position to comment on this.

Are you eager to work in Bollywood movies? Any favorite films.

If there is something good on offer, why not. Munnabhai MBBS, Lagaan, Dil Chahta Hai and more recently Piku are a few films I have really really liked.

Has the popularity of soap operas and daily serials come down, what it used to be a decade back?

I’m not sure about that but yes there are a lot more shows and channels today than a decade ago. This diversifies the options for the viewer and in turn affects the viewership of shows individually. It is difficult to attract as many eyeballs for your show today as you could a decade ago.

sumeet04F

Which sports you enjoy in your leisure time? And who is your favourite player?

Tennis is my sport. I just love the game. I try to play at least once a week. It’s exercise, fun and a relaxant for me. My all-time favourite player is Roger Federer. Though I am in no position to compare because I started watching tennis in the mid-eighties, but I strongly believe he is the best there has ever been. Coincidentally, my second favourite, Stefan Edberg is his coach.

Other than tennis, music is a great relaxant for me. Not just only listening to music, I love to sing and play the piano by ear as well. I’m a regular at karaoke’s and if in Goa, you’ll catch me singing every night.

Who are your favorite actors and actresses?

Amitabh Bachchan, Gene Hackman, Denzel Washington are a few of my favourite actors. Michelle Pfeiffer is my favourite actress.

I remember I walked down to the temple for the first time all alone when I was a kid when Mr.Bachchan was hospitalised after he was hurt during a fight sequence while shooting for his film Coolie.

What is success mantra for you? Any suggestion to those who want to become actors.

There are a lot of youngsters who are aspiring to become actors today. Just be honest and put your heart into what you do, success shall surely follow.

What is your fitness mantra?

Watch what you eat. This is what works for me. No matter how much you work out, I’ve realised the body doesn’t react the way you want it to if you don’t eat right. In fact, skipping the gym now and then is still fine. It isn’t very easy though because I’m a big foodie and just love eating.Luckily, I have my brother Sandeep, who is a nutritionist, to keep me on track with my diet and my wonderful wife Amrita, who despite her hectic schedule ensures that my diet never goes for a toss. She is the best diet cook ever!

Any one travel destination that you wish to see in future.

I’ve heard a lot about Puducherry formerly known as Pondicherry, and would love to go and visit the place one day. If there are a lot of karaoke options would make it even better for me 😉

Finally, are you writing a book or blog; do you wish to do so in the near future?
I am an avid writer. It isn’t a book, neither do I blog. I have written the films I have made so far. I am presently working on something very aggressively that I don’t want to talk about. I am really attached to it and if it sees the light of day, you shall know about it.

It was indeed very nice talking with an actor par excellence and wonderful human being. Thank you very much, Sumeet for your kind words and sparing some time for us. We wish you loads of success, luck and prosperity in the days ahead.

