Ketan-Bhagat

Ketan Bhagat, the 37-year-old MNC employee, is a down-to-earth human being. He lives at a rented house and owns a car (on EMI) in Mumbai. He is someone with whom any Indian citizen could easily relate to. And definitely you guessed it right. He is the younger brother of one of the most famous writers in India, Chetan Bhagat.

Undoubtedly, it is Ketan Bhagat’s candidness that makes him a class apart. He is a writer and motivational speaker as well. In an exclusive interview with Atish Home Chowdhury, the versatile author shares several interesting facts about his literary journey and upcoming book Child/God, which is ready to hit the book stalls soon.

Here are the excerpts;

1) How did you diversify yourself into writing?

Though I have always had a creative streak, I was reluctant to become a writer. Too much hard work and discipline for a lazy, non ambitious person like me. Plus when your brother is a hugely successful writer, the odds of you becoming a successful writer are pretty low.

Then somehow I entered a phase of life, probably the mid-life crisis came a bit early, when I saw most things in my life becoming routine. The journey was no longer about climbing rather than walking on a plateau. Somehow my wife pushed me and I took the plunge. Thank God because today I think writing is the only thing that keeps me sane 

2) What’s your upcoming book is all about?

“God comes in every home as a child to live with us and show how it is possible to be blissfully happy in the very home and circumstances we adults find so stressful”

My new book is about a thirty-something man who is disappointed with relationships and desperate to find success in life. Though reluctant to become a father, he falls head over heels in love with his newborn and ends up learning the meaning of life from his baby.

The book is getting rave reviews from readers and reviewers. The positive response is overwhelming.

opo

3) How do you perceive literature in your view?

Something that first interests you and then in some way transforms you.

4) Why Indian writers are not getting that much global fame that they deserve? Such as no NOBEL LAUREATE writer since Tagore!

I disagree that Indian writers are not getting as much fame as they deserve. Some of us (including myself) have a long way to go in terms of writing great stuff that truly deserves global recognition.

In any case, I think art has no nationality. For example, I enjoy both Hollywood movies and Bollywood movies but only if they are good. Not because where they come from.

5) What’s a word of advice for those who want to make a career in writing?

You can’t plan professions in art. If it is in your destiny, it will happen. If you force yourself on the profession, you will end up becoming more of a salesman of your art than the artist itself. There is a reason why most children of billionaires aren’t celebrities.

6) Can you share any interesting anecdote between you and Chetan Bhagat? Such as childhood incident or college life and so on.

Chetan was a born genius. Whenever I think of my childhood, memories of my brother’s pranks flood my mind. In hot Delhi afternoons, he would wear a scary mask, hide behind trees and then suddenly appear in front of school children getting off the school bus. The way those scared kids used to scream and run still makes me smile. During the Mandal commission agitation, Chetan participated in a peaceful candle march protest in our colony. There were thousands of candles of all kinds, his candle was the most creative and noticeable. He wouldn’t cut cake on birthday parties, rather he would cut a huge water melon. I wish he someday writes a novel around his childhood mischief’s.

7) Finally, where you see yourself in writing 5 years from now onward?

No idea. Life is rarely what you had thought of. So I don’t think of future at all.

Herewith wishing the young author all the best for his new book and future endeavor.

